All guides

IIM Trichy fees and ROI

IIM Trichy lists a ₹19.5 lakh PGPM 2026-28 fee, excluding caution deposit and mess advance. Pair that sticker with audited 2024-25 average CTC ₹19.27 LPA for PGPM; median was not stated in the press summary.

Written by

Published 16 Sept 2026 · Updated 4 Oct 2026

What you will actually pay

If you’re building the all-in number, start here. Budget more than ₹19.5 lakh. IIM Tiruchirappalli’s PGPM admissions page lists the PGPM and PGPM-HR fee for the 2026-28 batch at ₹19.5 lakh, excluding caution deposit and mess advance. Term tables show a ₹30,000 refundable caution and ₹24,000 mess advance per term in the published schedule. For ROI, use the independently audited 2024-25 press summary: average CTC ₹19.27 LPA for PGPM (PGPM-HR average ₹17.84 LPA), with highest CTC ₹43.94 lakh (institute press PDF / PIB release). Median CTC is not stated in that press summary; hunt the full report on the placement reports page before you treat any centre statistic as settled.

If you’re deciding on IIM Trichy, use this as the fee-and-cashflow companion. For fit, academics, and campus culture, use the IIM Trichy review. For outcomes walkthrough, see IIM Trichy placements. For cross-IIM fee logic, see IIM fees and ROI.

What the official fee line includes

LineFigureNotes
Programme fee (PGPM / PGPM-HR 2026-28)₹19.5 lakhAdmissions criteria page
Caution deposit₹30,000Refundable; outside the ₹19.5 lakh line
Mess advance₹24,000/term in published tableSubject to revision
Acceptance fee (Term I)₹1,00,000Adjusted in Term I cash
PGPM average CTC (audited 2024-25)₹19.27 LPAPress summary; CTC
PGPM-HR average CTC₹17.84 LPASame season narrative
Median CTCNot in press summaryVerify full audited PDF

Open the current circular for your exact batch year. Future cohorts can revise instalment schedules and inclusions. Our numbers are stamped September 2026 and should lose to any newer institute PDF.

Build an all-in cash budget

A useful household model has four buckets:

  1. Programme fee paid to Trichy on the published term schedule
  2. Refundable caution and any other deposits on the offer letter
  3. Mess advances across six terms, plus laptop, travel, and interview clothes
  4. Opportunity cost of two years of forgone salary if you already earn well

Many families underwrite only bucket one. Banks underwrite closer to one through three. Add ₹3 to ₹5.5 lakh of living and incidentals beyond published mess advances as a planning band unless your lifestyle is unusually frugal. That band is editorial judgment, not an institute quote. Tiruchirappalli living is usually cheaper than metro campuses, yet placement travel and clothing still add up.

Write every excluded line into a spreadsheet before you talk to a loan officer. If you cannot name caution and mess advances, you are not ready to accept.

CTC for ROI math when median is missing

Trichy’s audited press summary leads with average CTC and recruiter count. That is better disclosure than a logo collage, and it still leaves a gap for EMI planning. Prefer hunting the full audited PDF for median and distribution tables. Until you have them, model household risk on 20 percent below the published average, and label every cell as CTC. Do not paste another school’s median next to Trichy’s average without noting the definition gap.

Definition rules live in how to read IIM placement reports. Our broader framing lives in methodology. Placement reading detail sits in IIM Trichy placements.

Directional payback (not a promise)

Simple pre-tax illustration: ₹19.5 lakh ÷ ₹19.27 LPA average CTC is about one year of that average. Taxes, EMI interest during the course, mess advances, and living costs after graduation stretch that number. Our review’s editorial paybackYears: 1.0 is a debt-aware rounded view under the published average, not a guarantee that your EMI clears in twelve months.

Run the same inputs in the ROI calculator with your own scholarship, interest rate, and conservative first-year cash. If you already earn ₹18 LPA or more, add forgone salary to the true cost of attending. Fee-only payback charts flatter high earners who quit good jobs.

Compare fee stickers carefully

CampusFee signal (as of Sep 2026 reviews)Outcome label to pair
Trichy₹19.5 lakh + caution/mess advanceAvg ₹19.27 LPA CTC (median TBD in full PDF)
Raipur₹18.00 lakh (ex caution, boarding, insurance)Median ₹18.40 LPA CTC
Ranchi₹19.20 lakh (hostel in; mess separate)Median ₹17.64 LPA CTC
Rohtak₹17.90 lakh + mess/facility extrasMedian ₹17.00 LPA CTC
Udaipur≈₹21.34 lakh regular (hostel/mess/caution as listed)Median ₹18.00 LPA MEP

Inclusions differ. Raipur’s lower published academic total still excludes mess. Udaipur folds hostel and mess into the listed total and reports MEP, not CTC. Compare all-in cash and definition labels, then brand preference.

If fee minimization is your only goal, Rohtak or Raipur can beat Trichy on absolute rupees. If ranking signal, AMBA accreditation, and audited placement communication are non-negotiable, pay the Trichy premium with eyes open.

Scholarships, loans, and acceptance cash

Education loans are widely available for Trichy because of IIM branding and NIRF strength, but interest still compounds if you take a moratorium. Do not accept on the assumption that a summer PPO will erase principal by month three. Confirm scholarship rules on current admissions pages before you treat net fee as lower than sticker.

Offer-acceptance deposits are real cash events with refund clocks. Read the year’s policy before you wire money, especially if you are juggling CAP or JAP peers. Trichy participated in CAP 2025 and references JAP 2026 language on the PGPM criteria page; final offers remain institute-specific either way.

Parents sometimes fixate on NIRF #16 as proof that any fee is fine. Show them the fee circular beside the audited average and a below-average stress case. Prestige without cashflow is how households get stuck.

Before you accept or decline

  • Download the fee table for your batch, not a WhatsApp screenshot
  • List caution and six mess advances explicitly
  • Open the latest placement press PDF and full audited report; write average, median if present, and definition notes
  • Model EMI on a below-average cash outcome in the ROI calculator
  • Re-run the sheet after any confirmed scholarship
  • Re-check numbers the week you accept; circulars move
  • Read the review only after the money model is honest

Frequently asked questions

Is ₹19.5 lakh the full two-year cost?

No. It is the published programme fee. Caution deposit and mess advances are extra.

Should I use average or median for planning?

Prefer median when the full audited PDF publishes it. Until then, plan below the published average CTC and label the gap.

Can I compare Trichy fees directly to Raipur?

Only after normalizing mess and caution lines. Raipur’s ₹18.00 lakh excludes boarding; Trichy’s ₹19.5 lakh excludes mess advance.

Is Trichy worth the premium over Rohtak?

Sometimes. Decide on NIRF, accreditation, audit disclosure, and South India campus fit, not on ₹1.6 lakh of sticker gap alone. See the review.

Can an education loan cover the full IIM Trichy fee?

Usually the published programme fee is loan-eligible at major banks and NBFCs, but mess, deposits, laptops, and travel often sit partly outside disbursement. Model EMI on a below-median outcome in the ROI calculator and read scholarships and education loans.

How should I estimate payback years?

Divide all-in cash outlay (fee + realistic living) by a conservative first-year take-home you can defend from the placement PDF definition. Prefer median over average, then stress-test 20% lower. Treat the result as directional, not a promise.

Where do I verify?

PGPM admissions / fee table, placement reports, press PDF, plus our review and fees framework.

Data as of: September 2026.

Founder & Author

IIM Udaipur alumna (PGDM 2015–17). Founded iimHQ after navigating the new-IIM shortlist problem herself: fees, placement evidence, and campus fit over rank-table folklore. She writes the reviews; scores are her editorial judgments. See Disclosure.

Was this page helpful?

Tell us or send a correction.